skip navigation

Sailor Hobey Baker Award Winners


Success in life, much like success in hockey, demands more than skill alone. It demands a positive attitude, an excellent work ethic, and a will to succeed, no matter how hard it can be.

Quite simply, it demands character. That’s the true power of student athletics and why we honor the players who give their best for the team.

In 2003 we established the Hobey Baker High School Character Award to honor high school hockey players who exemplify the Hobey Baker ideal that "Character Builds Excellence." Candidates for a High School Hobey Baker Award are selected by their coaches, based on the following criteria: 

    •     Integrity and positive attitude
    •     Coachability
    •     Outstanding sportsmanship
    •     Community spirit

Each year, a single senior hockey player from Mona Shores high school is selected by his or her coach to be honored by teammates and celebrated by the school and the community for outstanding individual performance on and off the ice.

2020/2021 Dylan Dieselberg

2019/2020 Justin Winegar

2018/2019 Brendan Sullivan

2017/2018 Ryan Wolf

2016/2017 Nick Nawrocki

2015/2016 Connor Edlund

2015-Nathan O'Neil

2014-Corey Sander

2013- Reed Hrynewich

2012-Kyle Vanderwall

2011- Matt Barringer

2010-Austin Zaloga

2009-Eric Moblo